Back to top

Histoire de Province House

Province House, actuellement située au centre-ville d’Halifax, occupe l’emplacement original de la résidence du premier gouverneur de la colonie de la Nouvelle-Écosse à Halifax. Elle est le plus ancien immeuble législatif du Canada et a été qualifiée par certains du plus bel exemple d’architecture palladienne au pays.

Province House abrite l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse depuis 1819. Elle a aussi abrité une chambre haute de 1819 à 1928.

Lieux de rencontre

Avant la construction de ses installations permanentes, l’Assemblée législative a eu plusieurs lieux de rencontre à Halifax :

2-30 octobre 1758    

La première réunion a lieu au palais de justice à l’intersection des rues Argyle et Buckingham, où se trouve aujourd’hui le Scotia Square Mall.

31 octobre 1758 – 1 mai 1759

L’Assemblée se réunit chez Walter Manning. Le journal des débats fait état d’un paiement de 50 £ à M. Manning le 11 avril 1759.

1759 – 1764    

Le lieu des séances est incertain; l’Assemblée se réunissait peut-être chez M. Manning, qui est décédé en 1764.

Vers 1765 à 1789    

Ancien immeuble de la Halifax Grammar School, à l’intersection nord-ouest des rues Barrington et Sackville. Selon Shirley Elliott, l’Assemblée a déménagé à cet endroit en 1765. Thomas B. Akins, dans History of Halifax City (1847), a écrit que l’Assemblée a déménagé à cet endroit en 1765 ou avant. 

1789 – 1819    

Édifice Cochran, actuel site du Musée des beaux-arts de la Nouvelle-Écosse à l’intersection sud-est des rues Hollis et George.

1819 – aujourd’hui    

Province House

Mesures législatives portant sur la construction de Province House

À la fin du 18e siècle, le besoin d’un immeuble réservé aux travaux législatifs de la colonie se faisant clairement sentir, on adopte diverses mesures législatives en vue de répondre à ce besoin.

En 1787, on adopte une loi permettant la vente de certains immeubles à des fins publiques, la construction sur le front de mer d’Halifax d’un immeuble spacieux et la construction d’une prison (An Act for enabling Commissioners to make Sale of the public Buildings therein named for public Uses, and to erect on the lower Parade in the Town of Halifax a commodious Building, and also to provide or build a Common Jail), (1787, chap. 9)

À la suite de la destruction de l’ancien palais de justice dans un incendie en 1789, on adopte une loi visant à procurer à l’Assemblée législative et aux cours royales un endroit convenable où siéger et pour d’autres fins publiques (An Act to provide a suitable place for the General Assembly and King’s Courts to sit in, and for other public Purposes), (1790, chap. 10). Cette loi permet à la Province de louer de Thomas Cochran [conseiller], James Cochran et William Cochran d’Halifax le nouvel immeuble qu’ils possèdent devant la résidence du gouverneur pour un loyer annuel de 200 livres. La Province de la Nouvelle-Écosse loue cet immeuble jusqu’au 1er avril 1819. 

En 1797, on adopte une loi prévoyant la nomination de commissaires pour trouver des terrains pour construire un immeuble pour l’Assemblée législative, la Cour de la chancellerie, la Cour suprême, la Cour d’amirauté et des bureaux publics et pour fournir des plans et un budget pour la construction de la résidence du gouverneur, le lieutenant-gouverneur ou le commandant en chef (An ACT for appointing Commissioners to determine upon a ground situation, in the town of Halifax, and to purchase Lots of Ground if necessary, to erect a Public Building, for the accommodation of the General assembly, Court of Chancery, Supreme Court, and Court of Admiralty, and Public Offices, and for procuring plans and estimates for a building hereafter to be erected for the residence of the Governor, Lieutenant-Governor, or Commander in Chief, for the time being).

Malgré ces efforts pour faire construire un nouvel immeuble, rien n’est fait.

Deux ans plus tard, le gouverneur Wentworth refuse de vivre plus longtemps dans la résidence du gouverneur qui tombe en ruine. L’Assemblée législative met donc de côté son projet de se doter d’un toit afin de construire une nouvelle résidence du gouverneur sur le terrain sur la rue Barrington Sud qui était destiné à l’Assemblée législative. 

En 1799, on adopte une loi modifiant une loi adoptée pendant la 37e année du règne de Sa Majesté (An ACT in amendment of an Act, passed in the Thirty-seventh year of His Majesty’s reign) (1799, chap. 9) autorise l’édification d’une nouvelle résidence du gouverneur.

En 1800, on adopte de nouveau une loi visant à procurer à l’Assemblée législative et aux cours royales un endroit convenable où siéger et pour d’autres fins publiques (An Act to provide suitable places for the General Assembly, and King’s Courts to sit, in and for other public Purposes) (1800, chap. 4), mais encore une fois, rien n’est fait. Cette loi reconnaît que le bail de l’Édifice Cochran arrive à échéance et que le gouvernement devrait le renouveler pour trois autres années.  

Finalement, en 1809, on note dans le journal des débats le besoin d’un immeuble pour abriter l’Assemblée législative et des bureaux. Un comité est chargé de fournir des plans pour la construction de Province House pour l’Assemblée législative et des bureaux publics, ainsi qu’une estimation du coût de l’immeuble selon qu’il sera fait de pierres, de briques ou de bois (Journals, 24 novembre 1809, p. 22). Le comité présenté son rapport, mais le projet n’avance pas.

Le 20 décembre 1809, Simon Bradstreet Robie, député du comté d’Halifax, propose la motion suivante : « [TRADUCTION] Étant donné qu’il est devenu inapproprié et malsain de se réunir dans l’immeuble qui abrite le Conseil de Sa Majesté et l’Assemblée législative en raison de l’état de décrépitude de cet immeuble, il est indiqué de trouver un endroit de réunion plus convenable jusqu’à ce qu’un immeuble de l’Assemblée législative soit construit. » Cette motion est proposée dans l’espoir qu’une commission serait créée pour trouver un autre endroit à louer. Le lendemain, les membres du Conseil ne s’entendent pas sur la motion.

En 1811, dans son discours du Trône, le gouverneur Prevost reconnaît que l’Édifice Cochran n’est plus approprié pour l’Assemblée législative. Dans ce discours, il dit ceci : « [TRADUCTION] La prospérité de la province requiert que les différentes branches de la législature, les cours de justice et les bureaux publics soient mieux logés qu’ils le sont présentement – je vous recommande donc de considérer la question. »

En réponse à ce discours du Trône de 1811, l’Assemblée adopte enfin plusieurs résolutions qui donnent lieu à une loi sur l’édification de Province House sur le terrain où se trouve l’ancienne résidence du gouverneur (Act for erecting a Province House, on the Ground where the old Government House now stands for the meeting of the different Branches of the Legislature and other public purposes) (1811, chap. 14). Finalement, la planification d’un nouvel immeuble débute réellement. La loi précise que le plan de l’immeuble sera basé sur un plan dessiné par John Merrick, qui, curieusement, n’est pas architecte, mais peintre.

Architecture

Les avis divergent quant à savoir qui a conçu Province House. Les Journals et les Statutes disent clairement que John Merrick, qui était peintre et vernisseur, a fait le dessin, mais un article dans le Acadian Magazine (1826) attribue la conception de Province House à Richard Scott, qui était un maître bâtisseur et l’architecte qui a supervisé le projet. Scott avait les compétences nécessaires pour dessiner l’immeuble.

Quelques caractéristiques :

  • Province House est de style palladien britannique, un style qui met en valeur la symétrique et s’inspire de l’architecture des temples grecs ou romains. Les principales caractéristiques du style palladien sont une porte centrale surmontée d'un fronton et une hiérarchie des étages.
  • L’immeuble mesure 43 mètres (140 pieds) de long sur 21,5 mètres (70 pieds) de large.
  • Il est fait de grès des carrières de Remsheg (Wallace) en Nouvelle-Écosse.
  • L’escalier intérieur en fer a probablement été fabriqué par Kidston and Sons de Glasgow (Pacey, p. 50).
  • Le troisième étage comporte des fausses fenêtres où se trouve le Salon rouge.
  • Les chambres législatives, chacune mesurant 70 pieds sur 32 pieds, sont situées dans les ailes nord et sud.
  • Le plancher du rez-de-chaussée est fait de marbre blanc et de pierre calcaire noire où on peut distinguer des fossiles marins.
  • Les armoiries de George III au-dessus de l’entrée principale ont été sculptées par David Kinnear. Elles portent la devise de l’Ordre de la Jarretière (Honi soit qui mal y pense) et celle de la monarchie britannique (Dieu et mon droit).
  • On pense que les portes, les cadres de fenêtre et les manteaux de foyer en plâtre ont été importés d’Écosse.

Construction

Le gouverneur Prevost pose la première pierre le 12 août 1811.

Un montant de 20 000 £ est prévu pour la réalisation du projet. Toutefois, sur une période de huit années, les travaux finissent par coûter 52 000 £. Les bâtisseurs utilisent du grès des carrières de Remsheg (Wallace). 

Le journal des débats souligne que les retards dans la construction de Province House sont imputables à des pénuries de main-d’œuvre qualifiée, à des conflits de travail et à la guerre avec les États-Unis.

Ouverture de Province House

Enfin, le 11 février 1819, Province House ouvre officiellement. Dans son discours du Trône, lord Dalhousie déclare :

Les circonstances de notre première rencontre en ces lieux me conduisent à vous féliciter d'occuper ce splendide édifice, construit pour recevoir l'Assemblée législative, les cours de justice et toutes les fonctions publiques. Il symbolise et symbolisera je l'espère pour la postérité l'esprit public de cette période de notre histoire. Je considère ce travail magnifique comme à la fois honorable et utile pour la province et je le confie à vos soins.

Rénovations

Province House a fait l’objet de nombreuses modifications au fil des années. Le Salon rouge (le siège de l’ancienne chambre haute) est sans doute la partie de l’immeuble qui a subi le moins de changements.

Voici quelques exemples des ajouts et modifications :

1819    

Le terrain de Province House est entouré d'une grille de fer fabriquée par la fonderie Carron en Écosse. Le nom de cette entreprise est inscrit au pied du poteau sud de l’entrée de la rue Granville.

1824    

Le plafond de la Cour suprême est abaissé pour pouvoir créer trois salles au-dessus de la Cour, dont l’une est destinée à être la salle de réunion des comités. (Journals, 1824, p. 404).

1837    

On ajoute une porte à côté de la porte principale du Salon rouge pour donner au public l’accès aux débats du Conseil législatif.

1862    

La Cour suprême déménage sur la rue Spring Garden et on crée la bibliothèque législative dans son ancien espace. Henry F. Busch est l’architecte de cette transformation. Les ouvrages en fonte sont réalisés par la fonderie Mitchell de Chebucto, et les boiseries par Graham and Davidson (Halifax Express, 12 février 1862).

 

Cette photographie de Notman montre le parti au pouvoir assis à la gauche du président et l’opposition à sa droite. Maintenant, le siège du président se trouve du côté nord de la Chambre, et le gouvernement prend place à sa droite.

1886-1889    

Importantes rénovations pour installer un système de chauffage. On retire deux cheminées dans la Chambre d’assemblée et on creuse sous l’immeuble pour aménager un espace pour les chaudières. À ce moment-là, on change l’orientation de la Chambre d’est-ouest (comme ci-dessus) à nord sud et on ajoute des tribunes circulaires. Edward Elliott conçoit la nouvelle configuration (Debates 1889, p. 336-339). Les comptes font état du paiement pour l’éclairage électrique en 1886.

1950            

Asphaltage du stationnement au nord de l’immeuble.

1970            Salles de toilettes et salles des comités ajoutées dans le sous-sol.

1980            Installation d’un ascenseur.

1987    Importants travaux de restauration de la pierre à l’extérieur.

1991        Aménagement d’un espace pour la télévision législative au troisième étage.

2002            Aménagement d’une entrée et de salles de toilettes accessibles.

Dates importantes

1811     

Le gouverneur Prevost pose la première pierre le 12 août 1811.

1819    

Province House ouvre le 11 février 1819, et la Cour suprême le 1er mai.

1832    

Le 11 mars 1832, une chandelle allume un feu dans la salle Chancery, qui abrite la bibliothèque d’Halifax (coin nord-est).

1838    

Le 25 janvier 1838, les débats du Conseil législatif sont ouverts au public; une porte est installée expressément pour l’usage du public.

1842    

On demande à Henry Hill de faire des dessins architecturaux de Province House.

1847    

Un comité souligne le besoin de réunir dans un espace convenable les bibliothèques du Conseil législatif et de l’Assemblée législative, sous la direction du sergent d’armes.  

1848        

Construction d’une tribune des journalistes dans la Chambre d’assemblée.

1853    

Première mention selon laquelle la bibliothèque législative pourrait être aménagée dans l’espace de la Cour suprême.

1862            

Ouverture de la bibliothèque législative.

1901    

Le 19 octobre 1901, le duc de Cornouailles et d’York pose la pierre angulaire du monument à la mémoire de la guerre des Boers. La Province verse 3 500 $ en 1902 pour le coût de ce monument.

1904    

La Province érige le monument à la mémoire de Joseph Howe au coût de 10 455,79 $. Lord Grey, gouverneur général du Canada, pose la pierre angulaire en 1905.

1913    

Un canon provenant du HMS Shannon est installé au nord de l’immeuble.

1917    

L’explosion d’Halifax cause 10 000 $ de dommages, surtout aux vitres et à la maçonnerie.

1987   

Une cérémonie a lieu le 2 décembre 1987 pour souligner la fin de la restauration de la pierre à l’extérieur.

1991         

Une salle de régie est aménagée pour la télévision législative.


[Feature Box]
Canons – Deux canons encadrent l’immeuble; celui du côté nord provient du navire HMS Shannon. En 1813, il est retiré de ce navire, qui s’est triomphalement emparé du Chesapeake et mené ce navire jusqu’au port d’Halifax. Plus tard, le canon a servi à la citadelle comme canon de midi jusque vers 1905, puis transporté à Province House. En 1913, le général sir Ian Hamilton a dévoilé une plaque sur laquelle on peut lire « Tradition saith that this cannon was used on board the HMS Shannon, June 1st, 1813.  It was used as the noon and evening gun, 1882-1905. » (Selon la tradition, ce canon a servi à bord du HMS Shannon le 1er juin 1813. Il a été utilisé comme canon de midi et de soir de 1882 à 1905.)

Back to top

Province House

Province House, currently located in downtown Halifax, stands on the original site of the first governor’s residence in Halifax in the colony of Nova Scotia. It is the oldest legislative building in Canada and has been characterized by some as the finest example of Palladian architecture in the country.

Province House has been the permanent home of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly since 1819. It also housed an upper chamber from 1819 to 1928.

Meeting houses for the Nova Scotia Legislature

Prior to the permanent structure being built, the legislature met at various buildings in Halifax:

October 2 - 30, 1758

The first meeting is held in the Court House at the corner of Argyle and Buckingham Streets, which is the current site of Scotia Square Mall.

October 31, 1758 - May 1, 1759

The House meets at Mr. Walter Manning’s. The Journals record payment of £50 on April 11, 1759 to Mr. Manning.

1759 to 1764

Location uncertain but could have been at Mr. Manning’s. He died in 1764.

Ca. 1765 to 1789

Old Halifax Grammar School Building, on the northwest corner of Barrington and Sackville Streets. Shirley Elliott states that the House moved to this location in 1765; Thomas B. Akins, in his “History of Halifax City,” 1847, states that it moved to this location in 1765 or earlier.

1789 – 1819

Cochran’s Building, present site of the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia on the southeast corner of Hollis and George Streets.

1819 - present

Province House

Legislation passed leading to the building of Province House

At the end of the 18th century, the need for a building dedicated to the legislative work of the colony became apparent and various legislation passed toward achieving this goal:

1787 An Act for enabling Commissioners to make Sale of the public Buildings therein named for public Uses, and to erect on the lower Parade in the Town of Halifax a commodious Building, and also to provide or build a Common Jail (1787, c. 9)

After the old court house burned down in 1789, the House passed:

1790 An Act to provide a suitable place for the General Assembly and King’s Courts to sit in, and for other public Purposes (1790, c. 10) is passed after the old court house burned down in 1789. This act provided the “Province lease from the Honourable Thomas Cochran [Councilor], James Cochran and William Cochran of the Town of Halifax … all that new Building belonging to them now in Front of the Government House … at a Yearly Rent of two Hundred Pounds.” The Province of Nova Scotia continued to lease this building until April 1, 1819.

1797 An ACT for appointing Commissioners to determine upon a ground situation, in the town of Halifax, and to purchase Lots of Ground if necessary, to erect a Public Building, for the accommodation of the General assembly, Court of Chancery, Supreme Court, and Court of Admiralty, and Public Offices, and for procuring plans and estimates for a building hereafter to be erected for the residence of the Governor, Lieutenant-Governor, or Commander in Chief, for the time being.

Despite these attempts to move forward with a new building, nothing happened.

Two years later, Governor Wentworth refused to live in the decaying governor’s residence any longer. As a result, the Legislature deferred the proposed building in order to construct a new Government House instead, on the south Barrington Street property originally intended for the legislative building.

1799 An ACT in amendment of an Act, passed in the Thirty-seventh year of His Majesty’s reign, (1799, c. 9) authorizes a new Government House.

1800 An Act to provide suitable places for the General Assembly, and King’s Courts to sit, in and for other public Purposes (1800, c. 4) passes, but again nothing is done. The Act recognizes that the lease term for Cochran’s Building was coming due and that the government should renew the lease for three more years.

Finally in 1809, the Journal and Proceedings of the House of Assembly record that there is need for a separate Legislature and public offices building. A joint committee was struck “to procure plans for the erection of a Province House, for the accommodation of the Legislature, and for Public Offices, and also estimates of the probable expence of the said building in case it shall be erected of Stone,

Brick or Wood, and to report thereon as soon as possible” (Journals, November 24, 1809, p. 22). The committee presented its report, but the process stalled.

On December 20, 1809, Mr. Simon Bradstreet Robie, member for Halifax County, moved: “Whereas the ruinous and decayed state of the Building, in which His Majesty's Council and the House of Assembly now sit, makes it inconvenient and unhealthful to hold the General Assembly there any longer; and it is expedient to provide a more convenient place for that purpose, to be occupied until a Province House shall be provided.” This resolution was moved as an attempt to set up a commission to find another place to rent. On the next day, the Council did not agree to the motion.

In 1811, Governor Prevost’s Speech from the Throne recognized that Cochran’s Building was no longer suitable for the Legislature. He said, “The prosperous state of this Province, requires that the different Branches of the Legislature, - the Courts of Justice, and the Public Offices, should be better accommodated than they are at present – I therefore recommend that object to your consideration.”

In response to the 1811 Speech from the Throne, the House finally passed numerous resolutions, which culminated in an Act for erecting a Province House, on the Ground where the old Government House now stands for the meeting of the different Branches of the Legislature and other public purposes (1811, c. 14). Finally, planning for a new building began in earnest. The Act specifies that the building plan will be based on a plan derived by Mr. John Merrick, who, oddly enough, was not an architect, but a painter.

Province House architecture

There is some controversy as to who designed Province House. The Journals and the Statutes clearly state that John Merrick, who was a painter and glazier, created the design, but an article in the Acadian Magazine (1826) attributes it to Richard Scott, who was a master builder and the supervising architect for the project. Scott had the necessary skills to design the building.

Quick facts:

  • Built according to the British Palladian tradition, which emphasizes symmetry and is based on Greek or Roman temple architecture. Key Palladian features include a central door with triangular pediment and a hierarchy of storeys.

  • The building dimensions are 43 meters (140 feet) long and 21.5 meters (70 feet) deep.

  • Sandstone quarried from Remsheg (Wallace), Nova Scotia.

  • Interior iron staircase likely ordered from Kidston and Sons of Glasgow (Pacey, p. 50).

  • There are some blind windows on the third storey, best viewed from the exterior of the Red Chamber.

  • Legislative chambers are located at the north and south wings of the building. Each room measures 70 by 32 feet.

  • Ground level flooring is made of white marble and black limestone with visible sea fossils.

  • Coat-of-arms, carved by David Kinnear, over the main entrance is that of George III. The inscriptions are the mottos of the Order of the Garter (Honi soit qui mal y pense – “Shame on him who thinks this evil”) and that of the British Monarchy (Dieu et mon droit – “God and my right”).

  • Doors, window surrounds, and plaster mantels thought to have been imported from Scotland.

Building Province House

On August 12, 1811, the cornerstone was laid by Governor Prevost.

A sum of £20,000 was originally allocated for the task of building Province House. Over the course of the 8 years of construction, however, £52,000 was spent on the project. The builders used local sandstone from Remsheg (Wallace).

The Journals record delays in the construction of Province House due to skilled workmen shortages, labour disputes, and the war with the United States.

Province House opens

Finally, on February 11, 1819, Province House officially opened. Lord Dalhousie’s Speech from the Throne states:

The circumstance of meeting you for the first time in this place, leads me to congratulate you on now occupying this splendid Building – erected for the reception of the Legislature, the Courts of Justice, and all the Public Offices. It stands, and will stand, I hope, to the latest posterity, a proud record of the Public Spirit, at this period of our History; and as I do consider this magnificent work equally honorable and useful to the Province, I recommend it to your continued protection.

Renovations to Province House

Province House has undergone many changes over the years. Perhaps the Red Chamber, former home of the upper house, has seen the fewest number of changes.

Selected additions and alterations:

1819 An iron fence, by the Carron Company foundry in Scotland, is installed around the Province House grounds. The name of the company is inscribed on the bottom of the south post of the Granville Street entrance.

1824 Ceilings in the Supreme Court are lowered to create three rooms above the court. One of them was to be used as a committee room. (Journals, 1824, p. 404).

1837 A door is installed adjacent to the main door to the Red Room to allow public access to Legislative Council proceedings.

1862 The Supreme Court moves to its new home on Spring Garden Road and the Legislative Library took its place. Henry F. Busch was the architect for this transformation. The cast iron work was crafted by the Mitchell Foundry in Chebucto and the woodwork by Graham and Davidson (Halifax Express, February 12, 1862).

The Notman image shows the governing party sitting on the left side of the Speaker and the opposition on the right. Now the Speaker sits on the north side of the room with the Government to his or her right.


Major renovations take place to install a heating system. Excavation of a space below the building makes room for the boilers while two chimneys are removed from the House of Assembly chamber. At this time, the orientation of the chamber changed from east-west (above) to north-south and the curved gallery was also installed. Edward Elliott designed the new configuration (Debates 1889, pp. 336-9). Accounts show payment for electric light in 1886.


Parking lot at north end of building is paved.


Washrooms and committee rooms are added to the basement.


An elevator is installed.


Major stone restoration is completed to the exterior of the building.


Legislative Television space provided on the third floor.


An accessible entrance and washrooms are installed.

Key dates


Cornerstone is laid by Governor Prevost on August 12.


Province House officially opens on February 11 and the Supreme Court opens on May 1.


On March 11, a candle starts a fire in the Chancery Room, which was occupied by the Halifax Library (northeast corner).


On January 25, Legislative Council proceedings open to the public and a special door was installed for the public to use.


Henry Hill is commissioned to create architectural drawings of Province House.


Committee reports a need to unite and find a suitable space for the Legislative Council and House of Assembly library collections under the Sergeant-at-Arms.


Reporters’ gallery is built in House of Assembly Chamber.


First indication that the Legislative Library could be located in the Supreme Court space.


Legislative Library opens.


Boer War monument cornerstone is laid October 19, by the Duke of Cornwall and York. The Province donated $3500 in 1902 to cover the cost.


Joseph Howe monument is installed by the Province at a cost of $10,455.79. The cornerstone is laid in 1905 by Lord Grey, Governor General of Canada.


Cannon from the HMS Shannon is placed at the north end of building.


The Halifax Explosion causes $10,000 in damage, mostly to glass and masonry.


On December 2, an official ceremony is held to commemorate the exterior stone restoration.


A control room is built for Legislative Television.

Cannons - Of the two cannons flanking the building, the north side cannon was originally from the HMS Shannon. In 1813 it was removed from the Shannon after it triumphantly captured the Chesapeake and lead it into Halifax Harbour. This cannon was later used at the Citadel as the noon gun until around 1905 when it was brought to Province House. In 1913, a plaque was unveiled by General Sir Ian Hamilton, which reads “Tradition saith that this cannon was used on board the HMS Shannon, June 1st, 1813. It was used as the noon and evening gun, 1882-1905.”