Back to top


The Standing Committee on Health considers matters of access to and delivery of health care services.  It normally meets monthly. This committee’s meetings are broadcast live by Legislative Television and are available on line at Legislative TV and on Eastlink Cable channel 95 and channel 630 in HD. Closed captioning is available on Eastlink Cable channel 95 and 630 and YouTube Channel: Nova Scotia Legislature.

Please access our CART services at:


Upcoming Meetings

Tuesday, December 13, 2022

1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Committee Room
Granville Level
One Government Place
1700 Granville Street
Surgical Backlogs and the Extension of Operating Room Hours
Nova Scotia Health
Karen Oldfield - President and CEO
Cindy Connolly - Director, Clinical Networks, Perioperative/Surgical Services (Co-Lead for Surgical Access Initiative)
IWK Health
Dr. Doug Sinclair - VP Medicine, Quality and Safety
Department of Health and Wellness
Jeannine Lagassé - Deputy Minister
Nova Scotia Nurses’ Union
Janet Hazelton - President
Doctors Nova Scotia
Dr. Leisha Hawker - President
Dr. Andre Bernard - Anesthesiologist and Chair, Board of Directors
Scotia Surgery Inc
Dr. Philip Cyr - President and Chief Executive Officer
Ms. Denyse Neville - Surgical Services Manager

Committee Members

Contact Information

Judy Kavanagh
Legislative Committees Office
One Government Place, 2nd Floor
1700 Granville Street
PO Box 2630 Station M
Halifax, NS  B3J 3P7

Phone Number:
Fax Number: