Back to top

Le président

The speaker is a Member of the Legislative Assembly chosen by his or her peers to preside over legislative proceedings

L’actuel président de l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse est l’honorable Kevin Murphy. Il a été élu à cette charge le 24 octobre 2013. Pour plus d’information sur M. Murphy, lisez son portrait.

Rôle du président

Kevin Murphy

Le président est le député choisi par ses pairs pour présider les travaux législatifs. Autrement dit, il est le président de séance de l’Assemblée législative.

Dans la Chambre, le président fait observer l’ordre et le décorum, préside les débats, tranche les questions d’ordre et de privilège conformément aux règles et pratiques de l’Assemblée législative et voit à ce que tous les points de vue soient entendus.

Le président ne prend pas part aux débats, mais vote en cas d’égalité des voix lors d’un vote en chambre. Il peut participer aux travaux du comité plénier de l’Assemblée législative.

Le président est le gardien des droits et des privilèges de l’Assemblée législative et de ses membres. Les privilèges sont essentiels au fonctionnement de l’Assemblée, car ils protègent l’Assemblée et les députés contre l’ingérence des branches exécutive et judiciaire du gouvernement. Pour remplir leurs fonctions législatives, l’Assemblée et les députés doivent demeurer indépendants du gouvernement.

Le président est le représentant de l’Assemblée législative et gère tout ce qui concerne Province House. Il est aussi le président de la Commission de régie de l’Assemblée législative, l’organisme qui gère les services offerts aux députés.

Vice-président

Les actuel vice-présidents de l’Assemblée législative sontChuck Porter, député de Hants Ouest et Suzanne Lohnes-Croft, députée de Lunenburg.

Le vice-président de l’Assemblée législative, lui aussi choisi parmi les députés, assume toutes les fonctions du président de l’Assemblée lorsque celui-ci est absent.

Le vice-président assume également la présidence lorsque l’Assemblée législative siège à titre de comité plénier. Il fait régner l’ordre et tranche toutes les questions d’ordre. Ses décisions concernant l’ordre peuvent être portées en appel auprès du président de l’Assemblée législative.

Bureau du président

1er étage, Province House
C.P. C.P. 1617
Halifax (Nouvelle - Écosse)
B3J 2Y3

Téléphone: 
902-424-5707
Télécopieur: 
902-424-0632

Back to top

Speaker

The speaker is a Member of the Legislative Assembly chosen by his or her peers to preside over legislative proceedings

The current Speaker of the Nova Scotia House of Assembly is the Honourable Kevin Murphy. He was elected Speaker on October 24, 2013. Read more about Speaker Murphy in his member profile.

 

 

Role of the Speaker

 

 

Kevin MurphyThe Speaker is a Member of the Legislative Assembly chosen by his or her peers to preside over legislative proceedings. He or she is the presiding officer of the House of Assembly.

In the chamber, it is the Speaker’s job to maintain order and decorum, regulate debate, decide on questions of order, and rule on questions of privilege in accordance with the rules and practices of the House of Assembly. The Speaker ensures that all viewpoints are heard.

The Speaker does not take part in the debates of the House of Assembly. If a vote in the House of Assembly results in a tie, the Speaker casts the deciding vote. The Speaker may take part in proceedings of the Committee of the Whole House.

The Speaker is the guardian of the privileges of the House of Assembly and protects the rights of its members. Privilege is essential to the functioning of the Assembly, as it protects the Assembly and its members from interference by the executive and judicial branches of government. To fulfill their legislative functions, the Assembly and its members must remain independent.

The Speaker represents the House of Assembly and has jurisdiction over all matters concerning Province House. He is the chair of the House of Assembly Management Commission, the body responsible for regulating services to members.

Deputy Speaker

The current deputy Speakers are Chuck Porter, MLA for Hants West and Suzanne Lohnes-Croft, MLA for Lunenburg.

The deputy Speaker is appointed from among the Members of the Legislative Assembly. When the Speaker is absent, the deputy Speaker takes the chair and performs all the duties of the Speaker.

The Deputy Speaker chairs the proceedings of the Committee of the Whole House. The deputy Speaker maintains order in the committee and rules on all questions of order. These rulings may be appealed to the Speaker.

Speaker's Office

1st Floor, Province House
P.O. Box 1617
Halifax, Nova Scotia
B3J 2Y3

Phone number: 
902-424-5707
Fax number: 
902-424-0632