Silver Dart 100th Anniversary Act



ACTS OF 2008

NOTE - This electronic version of this statute is provided by the Office of the Legislative Counsel for your convenience and personal use only and may not be copied for the purpose of resale in this or any other form. Formatting of this electronic version may differ from the official, printed version. Where accuracy is critical, please consult official sources.

An Act to Celebrate the 100th Anniversary
of the First Controlled Powered Flight in Canada
by the Silver Dart in Nova Scotia

WHEREAS Nova Scotia is a province of many firsts;

AND WHEREAS the Aerial Experiment Association, formed in 1907, consisted of Alexander Graham Bell (chairman), Frederick W. "Casey" Baldwin (chief engineer), J. A. Douglas McCurdy (treasurer and assistant engineer), Lieutenant Thomas Selfridge (secretary) and Glenn H. Curtiss (director of experiments) and was financed by Mabel Bell;

AND WHEREAS the Association designed and built several airplanes, including the Silver Dart;

AND WHEREAS on February 23, 1909, the Silver Dart, piloted by J. A. Douglas McCurdy, flew from the ice-covered Bras d'Or Lake at Baddeck, in the County of Victoria in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia;

AND WHEREAS this flight was the first controlled powered flight of a heavier-than-air machine in Canada;

AND WHEREAS the year 2009 is the one hundredth anniversary of this historic flight.

Short title

1 This Act may be cited as the Silver Dart 100th Anniversary Act. 2008, c. 46, s. 1.

Silver Dart flight one hundredth anniversary

2 Throughout the Province, the year 2009 shall be celebrated as the one hundredth anniversary of the first airplane flight in Canada by the Silver Dart in the Province. 2008, c. 46, s. 2.


3 This Act comes into force on such day as the Governor in Council orders and declares by proclamation. 2008, c. 46, s. 3 .

Proclaimed - April 7, 2009
In force - April 7, 2009

homepage statutes statutes by title

This page and its contents published by the Office of the Legislative Counsel, Nova Scotia House of Assembly, and © 2010 Crown in right of Nova Scotia. Created January 18, 2010. Send comments to