The Nova Scotia Legislature

The House resumed on
April 25, 2017.

The Lieutenant Governor, as the Queen's representative, and Members of the Legislative Assembly make up the two component parts of the Nova Scotia Legislature. The Speaker presides over the proceedings of the Assembly and has jurisdiction over all matters concerning Province House, including operations and administration. There are 51 Members of the House of Assembly (MLAs) representing 51 electoral districts.

Lieutenant Governor

Lieutenant Governor
Brigadier-General The Honourable J.J. Grant, CMM, ONS, CD (Ret'd)

The Lieutenant Governor is the viceregal representative of the Canadian monarch and head of state, Queen Elizabeth II.

Speaker of the House

Hon. Kevin Murphy
Hon. Kevin Murphy

The Speaker is the presiding officer of the House of Assembly. He maintains order, regulates debate in accordance with the rules and practices of the House, and ensures that all viewpoints have an opportunity to be heard.

Featured Member

Photo: Pam Eyking
Pam Eyking

MLA, Victoria-The Lakes